Letter from a U.S. HealthWorks Patient

The following is an unsolicited letter written by a patient to one of our Southern California clinics.

I just wanted to write a note to thank you for providing some of the best doctors I have known. I came to you as a workers’ compensation case, and to be honest I was a little worried about the care I would get because of that.

The first few months was trying to just stabilize my back injury without much progression, and after a few months I landed in Dr. Wood’s care – wow, what a difference!

Sadly I have had to challenge his limits as everything we were trying from chiropractic, physical therapy and epidural treatments weren’t quite delivering the relief I needed. You should first know I am extremely fearful of needles. I am still quite amazed I allowed the epidural treatment to happen, but I knew I was in good hands. In fact, I can remember telling Dr. Wood on a re-check after the epidural, “You said I would be OK, and not only was I OK, but I’m pain free (which I was for 6 months). I’m pretty sure that’s the only time a man has told me the truth.” That was said sarcastically, of course.

As I mentioned, the epidural treatment didn’t last as long as we hoped, and I hate taking medications. I don’t want to do anything invasive as long as I don’t have to. Dr. Wood suggested I try acupuncture. Voodoo acupuncture?! I was pretty skeptical of acupuncture. I’d never had it, and I didn’t even know how it worked. I reminded Dr. Wood of my fear of needles, to which he said “The good news is it’s in your back, so you won’t see it. The bad news is it IS needles, however, not invasive and something we can do indefinitely unlike epidurals.” Again, I trust him.

I began seeing Dr. Arman, and I have to admit the first 3 or 4 appointments weren’t great for me. I came out of there feeling worse than when I went it, limping out of there at times. I liked Dr. Arman enough to give him one last try before calling it quits. On my fifth visit, he took the time to try and figure out why was happening. In my case, the commonalities of the “extras,” such as the infrared, the electric stimulator and heat, were something that had been applied during PT and chiropractic, which he had also been trying. He decided to try straight up acupuncture and voila! Magic! It was that simple. The last few treatments I hopped off the table, rather than not slid, stood up straight, not hunched, walked one foot in front of the other, not dragging. I think Dr. Arman is a fantastic doctor and person. I think he truly cares for his patients. He took the time to figure out why the acupuncture wasn’t working for me and adjusted it. He was willing to adjust the “norm” to get it to work for me, and it did!

I just wanted to let you know, you have TWO great doctors located in your facility. Professionally, they are outstanding. Personally, they have great attitudes, and I guess it was lucky for me that I found them. I hope they will continue in your establishment, and I hope they, in the very near future, won’t be seeing me any longer as they have finally been able to get me on the path of standing up straight, walking without a limp, disconnecting from my heat pad and feeling great. They are amazing!

Not that I won’t miss them and know that if needed, they will be there, but I am looking forward to pain free days of not seeing doctors as often as I do.

I can’t thank them enough for working with me, not over me, for listening to me, for believing me and working so hard to get me out of constant agitating pain. The time I wait for Dr. Wood has drastically improved. The time I wait for Dr. Arman has always been great. Additionally, your facility is clean, the staff is pleasant including Dr. Wood’s assistant. She is wonderful about always getting me any assistance I need. She is friendly and always smiling.

I spend enough time at your facility to know if it’s just a fluke or if they are just genuinely great people – and they are.

Keep up the great work!

Sincerely,
Keralea Pratt

Leave a Reply

